# Elk Neck State Park Hunting 2022-2023

# Rules, Regulations and Policies

- 1. **NEW for 2022-2023:** Elk Neck State Park has expanded the permitted weapon types during Firearm Season. The Carter Area and North East Beach Area will now allow Straight-Walled Cartridge (SWC) Rifles and Shotguns ONLY; Bottlenecked Rifles are prohibited in Elk Neck State Park.
- 2. Bow hunters are required to wear fluorescent orange or daylight fluorescent pink during firearm and muzzleloader seasons and Junior Hunt Day:
  - a. October 20 October 29, November 26 December 10, December 17 December 31, 2022 and January 6 January 7, 2023.
  - b. Junior Hunt Day: November 12, 2022.
- 3. All deer harvested count toward the state bag limits.
- 4. Shooting Hours
  - a. ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset.
  - b. Hunters are permitted in the hunting areas <u>2 hours</u> before sunrise and up to <u>2 hours</u> after sunset.
- 5. Hunting is prohibited on Sundays.
- 6. Hunting is prohibited above or within 50 yards of a trail or road.
- 7. A Free Public Hunting Permit is required to hunt at Elk Neck State Park. Every hunter must have his or her own permit. These permits are NOT transferable.
- 8. All State and Federal hunting laws, as well as park regulations, will be strictly enforced.
- 9. Call ahead reservations through the Gwynnbrook Wildlife Office are required for the disabled hunting sites in the North East Beach Area.
- 10. Hunters (and non-hunting companions) must sign in and sign out at the sign-in box at each parking area EVERY time they enter or exit the hunting areas.
- 11. All harvested deer must be recorded at the sign-in box.
- 12. Park in designated areas only, located in parking spaces adjacent to the sign-in box. Designated parking is indicated by a "P" on the park hunting maps.
- 13. Hunters are required to display their Free Public Hunting Permit on the dashboard of their vehicle.
- 14. Hunt in designated areas only. Call 410-260-8888 prior to tracking outside of the hunting area
- 15. Boundary signs are posted and maps are available on the Elk Neck State Park website at <a href="mailto:dnr.maryland.gov/publiclands/Pages/central/ElkNeck/Hunting.aspx">dnr.maryland.gov/publiclands/Pages/central/ElkNeck/Hunting.aspx</a>. If you are unsure of a boundary or any rule or regulation, contact a ranger at 443-252-4258.
- 16. Portable tree stands are permitted, but cannot be screwed or nailed into trees. Tree stands cannot remain in areas when not occupied by a hunter.
- 17. Do not field dress near trails, parking lots or any areas used by other park visitors.
- 18. Junior Hunt Day is November 12, 2022. Bow only; muzzleloader and firearms are not permitted on this day.
- 19. All deer harvested must be checked in within 24 hours. Visit https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal or call 1-888-800-0121.
- 20. Maryland State Parks are "Trash Free"; all trash must be packed out.
- 21. The Maryland Natural Resources Police has partnered with Maryland Wildlife Crimestoppers to prevent poaching of our fish and wildlife resources. You can report poaching and wildlife crime while remaining anonymous and be eligible for a cash reward. You can call or text Maryland Wildlife Crimestoppers at 1-443-433-4112 or email <a href="mailto:mwc.dnr@maryland.gov">mwc.dnr@maryland.gov</a>.
- 22. Violating the rules of this program WILL result in citation and loss of hunting permit.

#### **CARTER PROPERTY**

A maximum of 8 hunters can hunt at any given time on a first-come, first-served basis. Each hunter (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their Free Public Hunting Permit on their vehicle's dashboard.

- Hunting Dates
  - o Bow
    - September 9, 2022 January 31, 2023
  - Muzzleloader
    - October 20 October 29, 2022
    - December 17 December 31, 2022
  - o Firearm\*
    - November 26 December 10, 2022
    - January 6 January 7, 2023
  - Junior Hunt (for hunters 16 years of age and under). A maximum of 8 youths will be permitted. Only hunters with a Junior Hunting License and Hunter Safety Card Number may participate. Each Junior Hunter must be accompanied in the field by an unarmed, licensed adult, age 21 or older. Each Junior Hunter must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their hunting permits on their vehicle's dashboard.
    - November 12, 2022.
  - Primitive Deer Hunt Days
    - February 1 February 3, 2023

### **NORTH EAST BEACH AREA** (Disabled Hunters Only)

Call ahead reservations are required due to limited site availability. To make reservations, call the Gwynnbrook WMA Office at 410-356-9272 Monday through Friday 7:30 - 11:30am August 15, 2022 – January 7, 2023. 2 hunters per AM and 2 hunters per PM; by permit and reservation only. Hunters (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet. Hunters must have certification of disability/special license and permit. Hunters must hunt at their reserved posted site location. Hunters in this area are permitted to be in the park 2 hours before sunrise and 2 hours after sunset.

- Hunting Dates
  - Muzzleloader
    - October 20 October 29, 2022
    - December 17 December 31, 2022
  - o Firearm\*
    - November 26 December 10, 2022
    - January 6 January 7, 2023

### **ROGUES HARBOR and TURKEY POINT** (Bow only)

A maximum of 12 hunters at any given time at Rogues Harbor and a maximum of 12 hunters at any given time at Turkey Point are permitted on a first come, first served basis. Each hunter (and non-hunting companions) must sign-in and sign-out on the sign-in sheet and display their Free Public Hunting Permit on their vehicle's dashboard.

• Hunting Dates for Rogues Harbor and Turkey Point: November 5, 2022 – January 31, 2023

The future of this hunting program depends on you. Please exercise caution and conduct yourself in an ethical, sportsmanlike manner when in the field.

## Elk Neck State Park

# White-Tailed Deer Hunting 2022-2023

To Contact a Park Ranger or the Natural Resources Police, call 410-260-8888.

#### **NEW for 2022-2023:**

- The Managed Hunt Permit is no longer required to hunt any Department of Natural Resources (DNR) properties and is not available for purchase. The Free Public Hunting Permit is still required to hunt at Elk Neck State Park.
- \*Elk Neck State Park has expanded the weapon-type permitted during Firearms season in the Carter and North East Beach Areas. Hunters may use either Shotgun or SWC Rifle during the designated firearm season; Bottlenecked Rifles are prohibited.
- Campground Area A and Campground Area B will be closed for the 2022-2023 hunting season.

### **Registration:**

- All Hunters that plan to hunt at Elk Neck State Park will need to get their Free Public Hunting Permit through COMPASS.
  - Hunters must still have their regular hunting license (resident \$24.50; non-resident \$130.00), as well as bow or muzzleloader stamps if applicable (resident \$6.00 ea.; non-resident \$25.00 ea.).
  - Hunters are required to display their Free Public Hunting Permit on the dashboard of their vehicle.
- Hunters with a Universal Disability Pass will still be required to make reservations by calling the Gwynnbrook Wildlife Office Monday through Friday
  7:30 11:30am beginning August 15, 2022 (closed on holidays): 410-356-9272
  - O Disability Pass hunting sites can only be reserved 8 days in advance; only 1 of those days can be a Saturday.
  - O Disability pass holders can reserve specific site numbers: 3 or 4, **AM or PM session** (AM hunters must be off the site by noon; PM hunters can enter the site at noon).

#### **About the registration process:**

- You can apply for a hunting license and Free Public Hunting Permit online at: <a href="https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal">https://compass.dnr.maryland.gov/dnrcompassportal</a>
- Complete the information (DNR ID# and Date of Birth) and click the Login button.

### Download AccessDNR, the DNR Official Mobile App

- Features include:
  - Maps and directions to Maryland State Parks, trails, Wildlife Management Areas, boat launches and water access sites
  - Hunting season information by date
  - o An option for hunters to report their harvest directly to DNR
  - A location-based sunrise/sunset display
  - Trophy Case, where hunters can upload harvest photos and share through Facebook,
    Twitter or by email
  - o Hunting, fishing and boating regulation information